Dallas Fuel Re-Sign Seven Players Ahead of Overwatch League Season Two

Roster moves include Cocco joining Fuel coaching staff in assistant role

The Dallas Fuel announced the team has signed Overwatch players Dylan “aKm” Bignet, Hyeong “EFFECT” Hwang, Jonathan “HarryHook” Tejedor Rua, Pongphop “Mickie” Rattanasangchod, Min-seok “OGE” Son, Timo “Taimou” Kettunen and Benjamin “uNKOE” Chevasson to return for the 2019 Overwatch League season. Former Dallas Fuel tank player Christian “Cocco” Jonsson will transition from player to coach and remain with the organization as an assistant coach on head coach Aaron “Aero” Atkins’ staff.

The Dallas Fuel entered the offseason riding a wave of momentum after finishing the inaugural Overwatch League season by clinching a Stage 4 playoff berth. Among the players from the Dallas Fuel playoff roster not returning in 2019 are Brandon “Seagull” Larned, who recently retired, and support player Sebastian “chipshajen” Widlund, one of the original members of Team Envy in Overwatch.

“We are fortunate to have had a talented player and selfless teammate like Chips represent Team Envy and the Dallas Fuel these last three years,” said Mike Rufail, owner of the Dallas Fuel and Envy Gaming. “Without Chips, there would have been no Envy Overwatch, no APEX championship and no Contenders trophy. Chips was an integral part of our team and someone who created amazing memories for our organization and fans. We wish Chips the best wherever he chooses to play next.”

Chipshajen joined Team Envy in April 2016. His support play helped win the first season of Overwatch Contenders, a Major League Gaming major and APEX Season 1. Prior to joining Envy, the Swedish-born Chips played for IDDQD.

Another member of the original Team Envy Overwatch roster, Cocco, will transition to a career in esports coaching as an assistant coach for the Dallas Fuel.

“I’m excited by the diversity of personalities and skill sets among our coaching staff heading into next season. Adding Cocco’s in-game strategic thinking and experience playing on the Overwatch League stage to the group of coaching assistants we have in Jayne, Tikatee and Vol’Jin is a big win,” said Aaron “Aero” Atkins, head coach of the Dallas Fuel.

The internationally diverse Dallas Fuel roster consists of the best talent from around the globe. During the offseason, six Dallas Fuel players and two coaches represented their home countries in Overwatch World Cup competition: aKm (France), chipshajen (Sweden), HarryHook (Spain), Mickie (Thailand, captain), Taimou (Finland), uNKOE (France), Aero (USA, head coach) and Jayne (Canada, head coach).

Two Dallas Fuel players, Mickie and OGE, also played in the 2018 Overwatch League All-Star Game in August, where Mickie received the 2018 Dennis Hawelka Award for having the most positive impact on the Overwatch community.

Dallas Fuel 2019 Roster and Coaching Staff – as of September 4, 2018

  • Dylan “aKm” Bignet, DPS (@DF_aKm)
  • Hyeong “EFFECT” Hwang, DPS (@EFFECT)
  • Jonathan “HarryHook” Tejedor Rua, Support (@HarryHook)
  • Pongphop “Mickie” Rattanasangchod, Flex (@MickiePP)
  • Min-seok “OGE” Son, Tank (@OGE_ow)
  • Timo “Taimou” Kettunen, DPS (@DF_Taimou)
  • Benjamin “uNKOE” Chevasson, Support (@uNKOE)
  • Mat “Tazmo” Taylor, General Manager (@TazMo)
  • Aaron “Aero” Atkins, Head Coach (@Aero_OW)
  • Justin “Jayne” Conroy, Assistant Coach (@AskJayne)
  • Louis “Tikatee” Lebel-Wong, Assistant Coach (@TikateeOW)
  • Kang “Vol’Jin” Min-Gyu, Assistant Coach (@Dallas_VolJin)
  • Christian “Cocco” Jonsson, Assistant Coach (@Cocco)
  • Dong-hwan “Violet” Kim, Player Manager (@nV_Violet)